DIY : Sew a Poncho

I needed some distraction from sorting all the stuffs in the storage room and made a poncho. I’ve seen some made from scarfs and it seems like a quick and easy pattern-less project. This is also good for using up those left-over “L” shaped fabrics after you’ve made a top.

All you have to do is cut out two rectangles , do a double fold all over the edges and top stitch over them. Then overlap the long ends , top stitch leaving a hole in the middle. Lace up the sides and you have a poncho ! Quick and easy, isn’t it ?

SONY DSC

This is the front …

SONY DSC

I like the sides and the back more than the front, actually… I might wear this biking. It should be very breezy.

SONY DSC

About saltymom

making stuffs, raising kids, growing vegetables, cooking and cleaning. And Biking !

33 comments

  1. Pingback: Spring Sewing Trends | Sew Mama Sew |

  2. misspippilotta

    Love it! Great idea. Do you recall the length of your rectangles? Probably doesn’t matter too much, so long as it’s long enough. Going to give this a try. Thank you for sharing!

  3. I love this!! when you laced up the sides, did you just sew through the fabric or did you actually make buttonholes?

  4. Mary Miller

    Going to get fleece fabric to make a poncho this weekend.

  5. jenny

    Love it!! Where did you find the gorgeous fabric?

  6. How much fabric (in yards) did you start with?

  7. Love it!! Can you please elaborate on how you laced the sides?

  8. Great sewing project for beginners!

  9. Christie Daugherty

    I want a tutorial with pictures… and steps…. and for someone to hold my hand while I make this….this is sooo darn cute! And I want this fabric. You are good! :) TFS

  10. Pingback: Quick Poncho to Sew | Do It Daily

  11. Hi, I do beslieve this is a great website. I
    stumbledupon it ;) I am gling to come back yet again since i have saved as a favorote
    it. Money and fteedom is the grsatest way to change, may you
    be rich and continue to guide other people.

  12. Amy

    Where did you get the fabric?

  13. It was inevitable that Miss Snarky Pants would one day come across Salty Mom! I love this idea and am going to try it using Indian fabric salvaged from an old maxi dress that has ripped and can’t be repaired. If it turns out alright, ponchos may be my summer fashion statement (i.e. the way in which I hide my muffin top). BTW, this is going to be my first project using my new sewing machine, the one I don’t know how to use yet…so this could be interesting. Thanks again for this neat project.

    P.S. I’m also going to attempt the button holes. Be afraid; be very afraid.

  14. Jamie

    Picked fabric for this over the weekend. Can’t wait to make it! Super cute!!

  15. love this idea! thank you for sharing your creativity, can’t wait to try this out.

  16. Just wish to say your article is as astounding.
    The clarity in yiur post is just great and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject.
    Fiine with your permission let me to grazb your feed to keep updated with forthcomng post.
    Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

  17. Pingback: DIY How to Sew a Poncho – New Craft Works

  18. Polly Zieper

    I love that I can look through the remnants at the fabric store and make something really pretty if I find one I like -thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

